ICHCA Elects Farrell President U.S. Committee

ichca elects farrell
president us committee

E.J. Heine Jr., president of United States Lines, Inc., as outgoing president of the United States Committee of the International Cargo Handling Coordination Association (ICHCA), has announced the election of John J. Farrell Jr. as president of the U.S. Committee ICHCA.

Mr. Farrell is one of the leading figures in the world of cargo handling. He is president of International Terminal Operating Company, Inc., and is a director of New York Shipping Association and a governor of the Downtown Athletic Club. He is an active member of the General Stevedoring Council, as well as the National Association of Stevedores. Also newly elected was Herman D. Tabak of Freight Conference Services, who is elected to the post of secretary of the U.S. Committee, replacing A.T. De- Smedt, president of Reefer Express Lines, who has served as secretary for the past two years. The following officers and directors were reelected to serve new terms on the board of the U.S. Committee: treasurer—Bernard Gelman, supervisor and financial analyst, The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey; regional vice presidents — J.P. Gray, vice president, Matson Terminals, J.C. Jessen, director of traffic, E.I. du Pont de Nemours, and Edward S. Reed, chairman, Port of New Orleans Port Authority; directors—Prof. Leon N.

Moses, director, Transportation Institute, Northwestern University, and Ben E. Nutter, chairman, Port of Oakland Port Authority. In his capacity as president of the U.S. Committee, Mr. Farrell will be attending the World Conference of ICHCA in Melbourne, Australia, after which he will be announcing plans for future activities of the U.S. Committee.

Port Authority of New York and New Jersey Port of New Orleans cargo company shipping services international president transportation chairman terminal Port of Oakland New York and New Jersey committee authority association conference member